• Home
  • About
  • A Diverse, Equitable, and Inclusive Community

A Diverse, Equitable, and Inclusive Community

Statement on a Diverse, Inclusive and Equitable Community

The School of Architecture and Design is dedicated to an inclusive, diverse and equitable learning, teaching and working environment for its community of students, staff and faculty. We believe that the process of design is elevated when differences are respected, ideas are shared and people are connected. We recognize that all people should have a say in the creation of their own environment. 

As we aspire to advance the culture of diversity, equity, inclusion and belonging at the School of Architecture and Design, we will do so within the framework laid out by the University. This task demands a collaborative approach and one that integrates culturally competent protocols and policies in our everyday ideas, thinking and practices. 

DEIB Committee Members

In 2020, the School of Architecture and Design established a school level Diversity, Equity, Inclusion and Belonging Committee within the new school bylaws. 

     Tim Hossler (chairperson), Associate Professor of Design

     Sam Church, Interior Architecture Student

     Gregory Crichlow, Assistant Professor of Architecture

     Rachel Fosselman, Architecture Student

     Alyssa Jones, Industrial Design Student

     Whitney Juneau, Director of Co-Curricular Affairs

     Hannah Park, Assistant Professor of Design

     Grace Sather, Visual Commuications Student

     Nilou Vakil, Assistant Professor of Architecture

Connect with us on Twitter

Marvin Hall, Room 200
1465 Jayhawk Blvd.
Lawrence, KS 66045